Bookmark and Share
Congratulations to the Class of 2009!

May 9, 2009

After three years of intense study, the 161 members of the University of Colorado Law School Class of 2009 graduated with much celebration tonight. This was the first class to start at the Wolf Law Building.

After the traditional procession across the Boulder campus to Macky Auditorium, led by bagpipes, the faculty and administrators applauded the class as it entered the auditorium. The Commencement Ceremony started at 6:00 pm with a welcome speech by Dean David Getches, who noted how much the country’s state of affairs had changed in three years, in ways that could not be foreseen. Professor Paul Campos recognized the members of the Order of the Coif and introduced the Honorary Order of the Coif Recipient, Roy Romer ’52.

Class President Joe Neguse made a short speech recounting class jokes and told each member of the class to congratulate themselves. Class Vice President Michael Fredregill recognized this year’s student and faculty awards, Class Treasurer Benjamin Parrott presented the class gift to the Loan Repayment Assistance Program, and Class Secretary Elisabeth Mankamyer introduced Roy Romer, who was also the Keynote Speaker.

Romer had three points of guidance for the graduates for their careers: 1) be lifelong learners, 2) your view of the truth is always partial; continue to listen especially to those who oppose you, and 3) understand that can take jobs either for the ego or the task. Romer said, “I am indebted to this institution.” He ended with telling the class, “You are in an exciting time and have the skill of the mind. There is joy in using the mind. It’s what makes life exciting.”

Then, Registrar Cindy Gibbons read the names of each graduate, who received their diploma from Associate Dean Dayna Matthew and congratulations from Dean Getches. And, as tradition, Dean Getches read the Charge by Dean Emeritus Don Sears (Dean, 1968-1973).

The commencement celebrations included much food and music at the Law School late into the night.

Congratulations Class of 2009!